Shift Knob Cover – Pattern!

Remember those two shift knob covers I made for my friend Dylan? The first and the second?

They’ve gotten some interest around Ravelry and on the blog and I’ve been asked if I was planning on writing up the pattern, so I have!

Cover Numba 1

These two particular covers were made for a Subaru although I can’t imagine that they wouldn’t fit a range of other makes and models as well.  I used stash yarns for both covers in a worsted weight and I tried to stick with acrylic yarns because I find them a bit more durable and better able to handle all the grabbing, pushing, shoving and whatever dirtiness might come their way.I imagine this cover can be easily sized up or down to accommodate different sizes by changing the yarn or needle size

Cover Numba 2

These only take a few hours to make (quick gift!) and not to mention, it’s a great way to use up some stash yarns that you haven’t the heart to throw away!

Materials:

a few yards of worsted or dk weight yarn

Size 6 double pointed needles

CO 16 evenly across three of the needles leaving a bit of tail to use as a drawstring when we tie it to the shift knob

PM and join in the round being careful not to twist

work in K1 P1 rib for 6 rows

[K3 kfb] repeat to end of row

K for 2 rows

[K4 kfb] repeat to end of row

K 1 row

[K5 kfb] repeat to end of row

K 4 rows

[k5 k2tog] to end of row

K1 row

[K4 k2tog] to end of row

K1 row

[K3 k2tog] to end of row

K1 row

[K2tog] to end of row

k1 row

{K2tog] to end of row

Break yarn and pull through remaining stitches, weave in the end

kinda looks like a hot air balloon

When putting the cover on the shift knob, it should fit fairly tightly, the most difficult part being stretching the ribbing over the largest part of the knob.  Once its over, pull the original drawstring-tail through the first row of stitches tightly and tie off, weaving in the end.

If you do knit one, don’t forget to link to it on Ravelry!  I want to see what everyone makes :D

7 responses to “Shift Knob Cover – Pattern!

  1. Cute! Wonder if your Dad would like one?

  2. Would you make one of these for me? I don’t know how your website works or how to order anything

    • Hi Rachel, I hope you see this reply as I don’t see an email address for you, but if you’d contact me at sillylittlelady(at)gmail(dot)com, I’d be happy to discuss the details with you!

  3. Hi i was just wondering the same thing has another lady,do you make them to sell and if so can you send me some details.
    Thankyou Teresa

  4. A friend has a Subaru – and if I could make a cover that looks like Humpty Dumpty, she would be thrilled and surprised!! Thanks to KP post for finding out about these and you and your pattern(s)!

Leave a Reply

