WIP Wednesday: Tragedy Strikes. Again.

Ladies and gents, the universe is trying really hard to get this sweater to not be a sweater. what with the millions of stitches in rib at the bottom and the too-short body that I “finished,” ripped out and reknit not to mention the latest debacle.IMG_3541

Do you know what those are? Those little circles that you see in the fabric of my purse?  The purse that I carry my knitting in? Those, my friends, are ember burns.IMG_3542

I was hanging out around a campfire last weekend and saw a few little embers fly out of the fire and onto my bag so I quickly brushed them off and moved the bag farther away from the danger zone.  A few days after that, I was finishing up (for realsies this time) the back and “fronts” of my sweater.  When I was finished with the sweater I noticed a small piece of black lint on the side and tried to brush it off.

It did not brush off.

Those little embers burned a motha’f*@#$^% hole in my knitting. In my lace. In my lace that is knit with the prettiest laceweight yarn. It. Burned. A. Hole.IMG_3551

A small moment of panic was followed by a quick darning of the stitches around the hole and a soak in the sink to block out.  I’m not going to let those burning little buggers get the best of my knitting, no siree.IMG_3552

I don’t think it’ll be a noticeable thing when the cardigan is being worn but if anything else happens during this process I’m going to set out traps for the knitting gremlins who are stalking me and trying to ruin my really pretty sweater before it’s finished.IMG_3555

What are you working on this week?  Have flames ever found your projects?  Did you kick them in the face if they did?

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Tragedy Strikes. Again.

  1. The Universe is definitely screwing with you and this project! Get it finished post haste….before another gremlin is unleashed….

    • I’m going as fast as I can! I picked up approximately a bajillion stitches the other day for the front and neck bands, so now it’ll be k2, p2 rib for a while, then I’ll crank out the sleeves and it’ll be done!

  2. Ouch! That’s an unfortunate knitting fail right there. I hope the rest of the project is smooth sailing.

Leave a Reply

