Organizing Knitting

I was thinking the other day about all of the knitting I want to do in 2011.

  • I want to knit sweaters for each of my family members (excluding my mom, she already has one from me haha, sorry mom! I’ll make you another someday!) for their birthdays or something.
  • I want to knit my brand new nephew a Christmas stocking so he has a special handmade one for next year.
  • I want to knit a Christmas present every month and stash them away in my “Gifts” Box (doesn’t everyone have one of these on the shelf in their closet next to spare sheets and old bags?)
  • I have so many designs swimming around in my head that I want to knit up and write patterns for I could fill up an entire library

But with all of the other things that will change in my life (namely the fact that I will be graduating from college in May) I’m not sure how I can get it all done. So my question to you is:

How do you organize knitting projects that you want to undertake?

Do you write a long list and just add and add and add to it as new things come up, crossing off others as they are completed?  Do you use the Favorites or Queue features in Ravelry?  Do you even organize projects at all or just knit what comes to you when it comes to you?

One thought on “Organizing Knitting

  1. I accomplished a LOT of knitting last year and the only way it happened was because I PLANNED for it. I scheduled each project (one baby sweater a month); 2 months allotted for each afghan (that didn’t quite work out), start and finish dates for other projects. I learned a couple of things. If you create deadlines and stick to them you get a LOT more knit. TWO, you are likely to overestimate your own abilities (forgetting to take into account things like work, sleep, eating time) and over-schedule yourself with projects. But, if you fail to plan, as the saying goes, you plan to fail!

Leave a Reply

