Not Exactly What I Wanted

Remember that Chevron bag with all the cool colors and the zig zags?

the ziggy and the zaggy

Yea, that one.

Well, I felted it and it turns out its not exactly what I wanted.  The shaping wasn’t what I had in mind post-felting, the size wasn’t quite right (although that could be because whilst I was felting, I was also cooking an amazingly delicious dinner and may have possibly forgotten about the bag…maybe…).

felted ziggy zaggy

Which means, I’m doing it again.  Making it bigger, more stitches and bigger needles.  But since I used up about four different colors knitting the first one, this one will have a completely different color scheme trying to use up even more of my stash!  This is bittersweet, I loved the colors in the first one, but I do love being able to use up even more of my stash to make a better bag (especially now that I need another one since some inconsiderate thieves stole my last one – I am convinced that they just wanted the colorful, one-of-a-kind, hand knit purse and not its contents).

Anyways, now I have this bag that I’m not sure what to do with.  When it washed, it turned itself inside out and the strap got wrapped around it which resulted in the strap not being evenly placed either.  Do you have ideas of what I could do with it?

4 thoughts on “Not Exactly What I Wanted

  1. It is amazing what you can do with blocking and felt. When the felt is wet it is pretty strong but also can be stretched and shaped. If it is held in place while shaped it can be totally transformed. I shaped a bucket back by stretching it over a waste bin. I really had tug it into shape, but it came out brilliantly once dry.

    If it is already dry, just soak it a little bit to get it wet again and then yank it into the shape you want.

Leave a Reply

