WIP Wednesday: Replacement Hat

A few years ago I participated in a swap.  And in that swap I received beautiful red baby alpaca yarn.  With that yarn, I made myself a hat.

sorry for the shoddy photo, it was taken in dim light a few years ago

This hat was also in my purse on the night it was stolen from my car and so now, I don’t actually have a hat of my own.  My WIP today is a replacement version.  I’m using the same pattern and similar yarn, but this time its green with little bits of sparkle.

Looking out at the snow, yes, snow

Instead of using 6s and 8s like the pattern calls for, I used 5s and 9s but just last night as I was knitting along, I noticed that the cable on the 9s is starting to tear away from the needle and I have to put it into hibernation until I can get another pair of 9s to finish the replacement hat off with, which makes me kind of sad.

In other news, Socorro got snow!  Enough snow that classes are canceled today 🙂  That means knitting time (as long as I find another project to cast on, which I must because I have a knitting lunch-date with a friend) and playing outside when it warms up beyond 4 degrees.

I've never seen so much snow here, and its only about 6 inches!

Want to participate in WIP Wednesday?  Head on over to Tami’s blog to join the fun!

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Replacement Hat

  1. You see, cable problems are one of the many reasons I like to have multiple projects on the go at the same time. You have to be able to switch if there is a horrible knitting incident and you need to calm your nerves by knitting!

  2. SNOW! I love snow, but then again, I live in Southern California where we don’t get it (or at least where I live). That is so sad your hat got stolen, but the new one looks great! Hopefully you can get that new cable soon so that you can finish it.

Leave a Reply

