Stitches South 2011 Recap

Skeins used during the trip: 2

Skeins added to stash: 15

scrumptious

Experiences had (not counting classes)

For Next Time:

  • Bigger spending budget
  • Bigger suitcase

    I colored it myself!
  • Something handknit to wear everyday – Can you believe I only brought two sweaters? (Really? What was I thinking?)
  • Something to show off in the student show
  • The juevos to show something off in the student show
  • Cute pajamas for the pj party

    some class materials

Classes I took

  • Where do they get those numbers? – Edie Eckman
  • How to say it: technical writing – Edie Eckman
  • Art of knitting backwards – Candace Eisner Strick
  • More than one way to skin a sweater – Jolie Elder
  • Join as you go knitting – Lily Chin

    One of my favorites from the fashion show

What I came home with (not even including what my momma came home with)

  • 3 skeins Malabrigo worsted and a corresponding hat, scarf and mittens pattern set (I’ve never worked with Malabrigo before, these are my first skeins!!)
  • 2 skeins Malabrigo lace – to match with my Paris yarn
  • 10 yds sample skein from Miss Babs
  • 1 yarn caddy from Purty Thangs – won during dinner after the fashion show
  • 10 skeins elsbeth lavold silky wool in taupe – for a new design coming this fall
  • 65 pictures – should’ve taken more
  • 6  business cards – handed out 4 of my own (again, should’ve handed out more)
  • 14,578 new ideas

    one of the many booths in the marketplace

There will be a more comprehensive post on the yarn this week sometime (or maybe next if I get too busy).

Bottom line:  I will be going to another Stitches event and more knitting weekends/retreats/conventions in general and I think you should too.

4 thoughts on “Stitches South 2011 Recap

  1. Okay I have to ask…they let you take pictures in the marketplace or was it a sneak attack? Here during Stitches East there were signs all over the marketplace for no photography…..but people still took sneak pics…

    Love the pic of the hotel lobby, it’s just interesting!

    Sounds like you and Mom had a great time!

Leave a Reply

