Something I’ve Never Tried Before

Now, remember when I said last week that I was looking for a yarn to go with my Paris yarn at the Stitches South marketplace?

My thought process was that if I had a goal-yarn in mind, it would help curb impulse spending, (being a broke college student also helps impulse spending, incidentally)   and for the most part, it did.  I bought 10 skeins of Silky Wool in a taupe color because I’ve been in love with the silky wool since my momma had me wind some for her last summer, not to mention it was 50% off in those quantities (you can be expecting another design coming this fall with that yarn).

so much yarn everywhere!

Back to my goal-yarn.

I searched and I searched and for a change of pace, I searched some more.  I knew sort-of what I was looking for, something to bring out the bits of yellow in the gray-ish alpaca I brought home.  I wanted something with a bit of a halo, since the alpaca itself has a bit of a halo.  I wanted it to be of a similar weight – about fingering or sock weight perhaps.

So many of the yellows I found were too rainy-day and some were too dandelion.  Some were too pastel and others were too mustard.

Finally, I found it.  I found my Paris-yarn soul mate.  The color was perfect, just rich enough to add interest, depth and dimension.  The yarn was thin with just a touch of halo, less than the alpaca but not perfectly smooth.

Meet Frank

I’ve never had the pleasure of using Malabrigo before, this was my first Malabrigo purchase and it was so worth it.  I picked up two skeins of the Malabrigo Lace in Frank Ochre.

I’m still sort of deciding what I want to do with it, I know I want it wrapped around my neck/face area because it is so devastatingly soft and I’m thinking I want fringies as well….a scarf, shawl, or cowl……..

And as a bit of added awesomeness to the weekend, I won some Malabrigo Worsted at the Student Fashion Show dinner they had Saturday night too 🙂

One thought on “Something I’ve Never Tried Before

Leave a Reply

