NOT a WIP Wednesday

I don’t know why, but I have this mental block where I feel like it “isn’t right” for me to blog on Wednesdays if I don’t have a WIP to share, or on a Friday if I don’t have an FO.  I realize this train of thought doesn’t exactly make sense and so today, with lack of WIP to show you (the pants are in sad shape, they’ve definitely been ignored due to some Sooper Seekrit knitting, but I can’t show you the stuff I have been working on either! Gah!) I’m posting about a yarn supplier I was introduced to at Stitches South.

We were just cruising the isles of the marketplace, minding our own business, discussing the subtleties of knitting, life, boys or booze (or some such nonsense) when BLAM!

Something caught my attention out of the corner of my eye.

The colorway. Gorgeous.

The weight. Perfect.

The colorway: Cleopatra (image from http://www.ravelry.com/people/syracuse/stash/yummy-superwash-sock--baby-yarn---2-ply-7)

The broke-student budget. Pissed.

The supplier? Miss Babs.

And you know what? I came away with a small sampling of their yarn in such a way that my broke-student status didn’t cry (and no I didn’t steal it!).

They had a very nice woman handing out samples of their yarn.  Samples!  Like, samples of food in the grocery store, samples of yarn at the Stitches South marketplace.

Definitely one of the best modes of getting your name out there if I do say so myself.  Its a great way to play with a yarn, maybe even knit up a tiny swatch and see how the colors knit up and then fall in love and go back with your checkbook to get some more and know you’re going to love it.

One thought on “NOT a WIP Wednesday

Leave a Reply

