The Knitting High

I love the high I get when I finish a knitting project.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I surely do get a high from it.  Everytime I finish a knitting project, no matter how complicated or easy it was, no matter if it took me months or hours to complete, I always get a rush after binding off the last stitch.

many different facets come together to create a whole

(Endorphin rush from having something new)^steroids of making it yourself + (endorphin rush from producing something) + (creative release) + (new, totally gorgeous product)*(new, totally functional product) = The Knitting High

every stitch counts

Just the high of finishing something amazing is enough to make me want to cast on right away for another project.  Sometimes this high is substantial enough to give a knitter Startitis, an infliction that causes one to cast on for multiple projects right away.  It’s like sucking a gobstopper, you get so sick of sucking on a piece of candy and maybe even get sugar burns on the roof of your mouth (no? just me? hmm….I don’t believe you) but once that small ball of sugar is gone, you pop another one right away because the ending was so sweet (pun intended).

soft, warm, refreshing,

What happens if I don’t knit?

My moods change.  I get irritable and down.  Depressed, anxious, short-tempered.  There was a time a few months ago where I was dealing with a lot of life-stuff and I went over a month without knitting.  A month.  Not only did this lack of knitting prove that I was dealing with heavy stuff, it fed into the cycle of depression and the more I didn’t knit, the more I felt depressed to the point of not knitting.

so many paths to choose from, so much creative freedom!

I didn’t talk too much about it here on the blog because, well, this blog is a happy space and I’m not going to talk about it much now except to tell you that once I did force myself to start knitting again, my whole world changed.  I started having the energy to go out and do things, to knit again and smile.  The more I knit, the better I felt, and the more I felt like knitting.  The cycle had reversed itself.

So, yea, knitting may be my addiction.  But you know what?  Its far from detrimental to my life, and I’m going to keep doing it.

So there.

2 thoughts on “The Knitting High

  1. Wow. I think this is exactly what I needed to read. If you didn’t notice already, it’s been a while since I’ve done anything knitting related. You may have just inspired someone to pick up her knitting needles again. Thank you!

  2. Every time I think I’m going to quit knitting because I’m discouraged over what I’m making, babygirl, you inspire me to pick up those needles again, and yes, indeedy, I do get to that happy place! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

