FO Friday: Dad’s Sweater

After agonizing for months about this sweater, finishing it with two days to spare and then playing the waiting game to see if it actually fit, I finally have a verdict for you all.

Although it wasn’t the first present opened, it was worn by the recipient right away and you know what?  Even though I only had a measurement taken by my mom of one of his other sweaters to go off of (I don’t live nearby anymore, I hardly ever see them) the sweater fit better than I had even anticipated!

Getting him to stand still isn't the easiest of feats...

My younger brother commented that it looked “like something you’d find at the GAP” and my Dad seemed thoroughly impressed – it was his very first hand knit sweater and it was from his daughter.

Needless to say, I am absolutely thrilled.  The yarn is soft, the garment is machine washable and the man seems pleased with his gift.  This may have been my Project of the Year for 2011 – it took me months (I did take my sweet time with it and worked on it between other projects), it absolutely *had* to fit or I may have broken down in alligator tears, and it had a lot of sentimental value to me if not to the recipient (although I have a hunch that it does for him too).

Both boys wearing hats that Mom knit and Mom and Dad wearing sweaters that I knit

Most of the details can be found on the Ravelry page but here are the basics:

Pattern: Beagle by Norah Gaughan

Yarn: Berroco Vintage in Charcoal (8 skeins used)

Size: 46 (and in-between size I had to fandangle based on the measurement my momma got me – based on the fit, I’m so glad I spent all the time re-working the numbers)

Wanna read more FO Friday posts and share your Christmas victories or less-than-victories?  Tami’s blog has all of the details!

3 thoughts on “FO Friday: Dad’s Sweater

Leave a Reply

