Colour Lovers

Welcome to the first day of Knitting and Crochet Blog Week organized by the wonderful Eskimimi!  Today we’re talking about color.  Color is a tricky thing, I love color.  I’m drawn to it like a bell-bottom-wearing-moth to a disco flame. Things weren’t always this way, when I was but a wee larvae I enjoyed my monochromatic wardrobe, my blacks, greys and the occasional brown.  I thought I was colorful with my red polka dotted shoestrings but alas, now I know the truth.

not the prettiest picture, but some really pretty yarn!

My yarns are primarily organized by color and at first glance of the stash you’ll notice I have a fair amount of brown – most of which came from a massive thrift store score a few years back that I’m still working through.  If you look at my finished projects you’ll see that I knit with a lot of blues (Scholarly CardiganDeep Waters and Starlit Skies Shrug?)

all different shades of the blue rainbow

When working out new designs, color does come into play.  There’s a lot of psychology behind color.  One of the things that I strive for with my designs is wearability and that definitely takes a part in choosing my colors – do I want design elements to be the star?  or the color?  which color would get more use in my closet?

What are your favorite colors to knit with?

One thought on “Colour Lovers

Leave a Reply

