First Half Marathon Recap

I ran my very first half marathon on Saturday, the Denver Rock n Roll Half Marathon, it was tough, but I feel good for having accomplished it!

Because the organizers set groups off in waves (with 15,000 people, how can you do it any other way?) and I had estimate a longer time for myself (which I met) I was in the next-to-last corral to start the race.  The waiting was probably one of the worst parts for me since I usually just “get up and go” when I run around my neighborhood.

Thanks to my buddy for having a phone to take this picture after the race!

During the race, my only real “issues” were dodging so many folks on the road, listening to all of their conversations and around mile 10 my gut cramped up (probably from drinking the Gatorade at the last station too fast so I could keep moving).  Other than that, I had the normal aches and pains in my knees and feet but I feel that, even though my average pace was slower than intended, I finished strong.

Comments on the Rock N Roll Race:

  • there were fewer bands than I imagined there would be (cowbells don’t count as “live music”)
  • the Expo was pleasant, I went Thursday afternoon so it was less crowded which was kind of nice
  • volunteers, and especially the Police men and women keeping us safe from getting run over, should have a smile on (like they actually want to keep us safe)
  • I love that the chip on my shoe didn’t have to be returned after the race, one less thing to worry about
  • all of the folks at the finish line were nice, smiley, helpful and made me feel like I accomplished something 😀

What I will do differently next time:

  • train more
  • bring my own music
  • have my cell phone handy in my own pack or my checked bag for post-race-finding-of-folks
8 thoughts on “First Half Marathon Recap

  1. Congratulations on your first half marathon and meeting your time! You’re inspiring to keep up my walking routine and turn into something more ambitious. Maybe Couch to 5K in October.

Leave a Reply

