Swatch Organization

I don’t know how many of you other crafters swatch, but I find them extremely important in my design making, especially when it comes to design submissions.  After I’ve knit up the piece at least once, changed needle sizes or stitch counts to suit the fabric, etc, I’ve got all these little pieces of fabric lying around.IMG_8272

They’re textured, colored, simple, small, big, rectangle, oblong, and sorts of useful and kind of pretty.  I keep most of my swatches in this white basket except for the ones I’m currently using.  IMG_8269

If I go back to a swatch from ages ago (or even a week, heck, let’s be honest) I may not remember exactly what size needles I used, or the fiber content of the yarn.  I use these little white tags to keep track of this information so I can refer back to it later.IMG_8268

Do you swatch?  What do you do with them after they’ve served their initial purpose?

6 thoughts on “Swatch Organization

  1. Sometimes, I unravel my swatches when I run low on yarn. I’m trying to be better about swatching but often, I’m making a pair of socks or a hat and don’t need to swatch. Have you thought about putting them either into a notebook with the info on the side or keeping them in a binder?

    1. I have thought of that actually, I just haven’t gotten around to doing it yet, haha! Lazy knitter over here. I’d love to get a binder and a bunch of plastic sleeves to put swatches in with information on the yarn, needles, stitch counts, etc but also design ideas for them, all in one place!

  2. I’ve only done half-proper swatches a couple times, all for rather large items that need proper fit (translation: sweaters). Each time, my swatch was frogged and used for said project.

    I think once I start doing proper designs, I’ll probably be more inclined to swatch. We’ll see.

  3. I do swatch…I didn’t in the past and once the outfit didn’t fit, then yes, that makde me realize that I needed to swatch. My swatches are posted on a bulletin board in my craft room.

Leave a Reply

