Pints & Purls Edition 3: Avalanche Amber Ale

This is the third in a series of installments that will highlight  some of my favorite brews and which knits to go with it!  Read more editions here!

…………………………………..IMG_9340

Brew: Avalanche Amber Style Ale

Brewer: Breckenridge Brewery

Malts: Two Row Pale, Caramel, Carapils, Chocolate

Hops: Willamette, Chinook, Palisade

Flavors:  Easy to drink, malty but with a crisp, slightly hoppy presence, the finish is clean and quick. IMG_9345

Knit Pairings:  This beer would go well with just about anything.  Because it’s easy to drink anytime, anywhere, feel free to tackle those focus-needing long projects.  Family sized, super cabled afghan? No problem!  Quick set of baby booties that take no longer than a pint or two? Absolutely.

Notes:  Grab a six pack and sit on the couch with your yarn nest around you and see how much of that huge project you can knock out in one sitting! (Maybe bring some food to your nest…or have some walkie talkies so your closest neighbor, spouse or roommate can bring you sustenance when the beer starts taking it’s toll).

Let me know what you think!  Suggestions for future beers, more/different information to include, this is a work in progress so I won’t be offended by constructive advice!

6 thoughts on “Pints & Purls Edition 3: Avalanche Amber Ale

  1. Hahaha! I think if I had a six pack all to myself, I would be doing more tinking than knitting. But hey, sometimes that’s part of the fun 🙂

  2. This is a tasty ale that I really enjoy this time of year! Great review, thank you! All jokes aside 😉 If you have not tried the Wynkoop Brewery Rocky Mountain Oyster Stout … ? It is totally worth a taste. Let me know what you think of it if you decide to give it a go. Take care and be well.

  3. I dunno. I might need a whole six pack to finish baby booties or baby socks. The one and only pair of baby socks I have knitted were done on size 0s and took much longer than I expected.

Leave a Reply

