The Artist Within – A Homegrown Shop in a Homegrown Town

IMG_9244During my time in southern Colorado, my momma and I made sure to visit the Local Yarn Store (which also happens to be the cutest little locally grown store around).  The Artist Within is a yarn store, jewelry boutique, button and bead outlet and hosts a number of other locally produced goods. IMG_9217

Carol, the owner, is one of the nicest, sweetest, most fun people to talk to!  She is passionate about her wares and her yarns (and all the other goods) are all locally sourced and produced in the USA.  She carries yarns that I’ve never seen – some from local spinners and dyers, and some from other small mills around the country.IMG_9219

As picky as I am, I usually leave yarn stores empty handed.  This time, that was impossible.  I couldn’t decide between the beautiful yellow of this wool and the crazy soft purpley-grey of this alpaca/merino blend (the product of a local color master).IMG_9259

The yellow isn’t the only beautiful color from Shepherd’s Wool, my momma had visited the store previously and shown off the wonderful red/black and on our return trip, she came home with the grey too.IMG_9261

The purpley-grey color I came home with is a locally sourced, colored and spun Alpaca/Merino Blend from Fiber Tales, a local Durango yarn producer.  IMG_9254

If you’re in the area, I really, highly, recommend visiting this little shop and saying hello!

Leave a Reply

