The Leadville Heavy Half

A few months ago, while hanging out with my folks, I was provoked to sign up for arguably the hardest half marathon around.  The provoker (my father) will deny any accusations of such provocation, but let me tell you, he knows just how to push my “non-competitive” buttons.IMG_9679

This past Saturday was the day.

Months of training behind me and only the mountain in front me.IMG_9710

To say it was difficult is an understatement, and to be honest, I almost didn’t finish.  At about 12,000 feet and change I started to feel absolutely awful.  My options were to either pass out or puke, and if I hadn’t puked, I wouldn’t have made it to the top.  To spare the gory details, after “examining the grass” I got a surge of adrenaline which propelled me further up the mountain but waned before I made it all the way up.  However, it was just enough to seal my finisher’s fate.IMG_9724

I didn’t finish with the best time (4:54:38) but I did conquer that mountain and finished strong.

1016771_595092523864283_471257835_n
this picture is courtesy of my fatha – post-run cards are important!

I’m so grateful that my Dad, the original cause of this insanity, ran with me – without him I don’t know that I could’ve done it!IMG_9728

And I’m already plotting next year’s return – it surprises me that this experience didn’t turn me off from running altogether, but with those views, how can you say no?IMG_9689

7 thoughts on “The Leadville Heavy Half

  1. Woo-hoo! Sometimes, puking is the only way to get through something. I’m not a runner (my knees do not agree with it)…I’d actually venture to say that I hate running. I see your knee is taped…I’ve had to do that to my knees. I don’t have to anymore but, then again, I don’t run anymore.

    Is there a full marathon in your future?

  2. Congratulations on finishing and making it all the up the mountain! Hope you have a better and puke free time of it next year.

    I’ll have to remember the “examining the grass” euphemism. Never know when that might come in handy.

Leave a Reply

