Pints & Purls Edition 17: Guinness – Guest Post!

This is the seventeenth in a series of installments that will highlight one of my favorite brews and which knits to go with it!  None of the breweries or yarn companies are compensating me – these are just my opinions on my personal experiences!

…………………………………..

First off, I’d like to thank Kirsten of kfklever for guest posting this week!  And, for all those dark beer drinkers out there who are sick of my hop-tastic choices, she’s chosen one I think you’ll all like 😉

Brew: Guinness Draught

Brewer: Guinness

Malts: Subtle aromas of roasted coffee and caramel

Hops:

Flavors: A strong rich flavor with a medium amount of sweetness and a super creamy finish makes this stout a delight to drink. Colloquially known as “Steak in a Bottle”, Guinness is a thick stout with a full-bodied taste that is sure to delight chocolate and steak lovers everywhere. The Nitro base makes for a smooth taste that is easy to drink.

Knit Pairings: Guinness goes great with cold nights when you can curl up by the fire. Try knitting a cozily cabled cowl with a DK weight tweed that matches the warm hearty flavors; a favorite is Rowan Felted Tweed DK. Bonus points if you use color #161, a beautiful green that matches the lush hillsides of Ireland. With 191 yards, you’ll run out of beer before you run out of yarn, and your finished cowl will keep you warmer longer than your Guinness pint!

…………………………………………

Again, a special thanks to Kirsten for this week’s Pints & Purls post!

Let me know what you think!  Suggestions for future beers, more/different information to include, this is a work in progress so I won’t be offended by constructive advice!

3 thoughts on “Pints & Purls Edition 17: Guinness – Guest Post!

  1. Now you’re talking my kind of beer! Love the post and I agree! I work on blankets/throws when I drink Guinness, and typically a pattern that I have totally memorized so it becomes effortless.

Leave a Reply

