Scoping Out My New LYS’s

This past weekend was my first real weekend living in Northern Colorado and what did I do?  Loaded the dogs into the car and headed to check out some of the local yarn scene.  ResizedImage_1384219725183

First stop was at The Loopy Ewe – hard to find but worth wandering around looking like a doofus continually checking my phone and the directories knowing that “I’m here! I’m right here!  The dot says so!” when really you’re just standing 15 feet below where you should actually be.  ResizedImage_1384219834358

The store certainly did not disappoint.  Windows everywhere let in all kinds of natural light to really show off the yarn selection’s best colors – I’m talking the best brands, the best colors, the most hard to find combinations of the aforementioned and everything else you could imagine.  Along with really nice employees and shoppers (but really, yarn crafters are the nicest folks anyway, yes?).  ft_collins_yarn_stores

Next, I visited Your Daily Fiber whom I’ve mentioned before on the blog and just knew I had to see what their little shop looked like.  I scoured the racks for the laceweight skein of yarn I lost (well, I didn’t *lose* it, per se, but it was bought out from under me! Oh the horror!) and it wasn’t there, but I’m going to keep looking everytime I visit and hopefully I’ll get lucky!  I didn’t come home empty-handed, and lucky for me, I didn’t break the bank either.IMG_1877

I picked up a single skein in the prettiest colorway of the Acadia yarn from The Fibre Company.  I’m thinking a hat for this lonely skein, it’d look great knit up in something that has light cables or lace – not too busy but not plain either.  I’m thinking foliage patterns….we’ll see.IMG_1874

Have you visited any new-to-you yarn stores lately?

7 thoughts on “Scoping Out My New LYS’s

  1. I’ve heard such good things about the Loopy Ewe. I ordered the yarn for my wedding shawl from there, I think. They keep a lot of good stuff in stock.

      1. It’s the Fiori Di Sole pattern my Romi Hill. It’s on my projects list on Ravelry, if you’re curious. My username is caityrosey.

  2. I’m still working on finding all the yarn shops here in San Francisco. There’s one here in town, and that’s helpful. But, I’ve been to at least eight in the area…maybe more.

Leave a Reply

