Life and Inspiration

Reading my buddy (and coworker) Hannah’s post the other day got me thinking about inspiration in my own life and how I handle my crafty endeavors.

As you all well know by now, I’m a knitter through and through, always have been, always will be.  It’s my therapy, it’s my energy, it’s part of my life like my dog and my family.IMG_9407

Knitting is not, however, the only crafty thing I wish to do.  There are *tons* of other creative things I’d love to try someday (and hopefully someday soon) but there are a myriad of reasons why I haven’t tried them yet and they’re not already waiting in my queue.

  1. Crafty things cost money. I don’t have a lot of funds right now.  I do have a budget for edible food and shouldn’t I have a budget for soul-food? Well, what’s the Ramen of soul-food?
  2. I’m afraid. Of what? I’m not entirely sure – probably failure.  I always tell other knitters not to be afraid of their knitting when they are nervous to try a new technique, what’s the worst that could happen? It doesn’t work out the way you wanted it to and you can (usually) reuse the yarn for another project or the same project if you’re inclined to try again. So why does trying other crafts scare me?
  3. I could be judged. If I try something new and someone else sees it, they are completely free to judge that thing I did and that makes me feel like I’m the one being judged because I created that thing. Why this doesn’t bother me with knitting, I don’t know, because it’s already a part of my soul?

I’ve always wanted to try painting.  It’s this magical, mysterious world that I love to watch happen and I love the finished results but I have no idea how it actually works.  I mean, I get the basics – you put paint on a surface – but the intricacies of the thing are just so cool to watch.  My uncle is a great painter and he recently shared his process for creating a painting and it is by far one of the coolest things I’ve seen. And have you seen Heather’s mandalas?  They’re so pretty and interesting to look at, they make me calmer and more contemplative.

I also wear copious amounts of jewelry and think that’d be a fun thing to take up and try.

Pottery throwing is another something magical that I’d like to try someday and I know there are pottery studios around.

And, of course, photography.  I’ve been trying and learning and trying and learning and experimenting and learning for years and although I’ve gotten better, I know I’m not there yet.  Luckily, this is something that is pretty much required as a knitting blogger, I like to show you what I’m working on and to do that, I have to take pictures! Also, it’s inexpensive since I already have the tools.

What are some things you’ve always wanted to try? How do you get past your inner roadblocks to actually do them?

4 thoughts on “Life and Inspiration

  1. You have so very many gifts. Writing and expressing yourself is certainly one of them. I also think you could be a good therapist. Group knitting therapy for sure!

    1. Thanks Lori! Writing this blog is something that I like to do and sometimes I get insecure and wonder if it’s any good haha. And then I realize that I don’t care if it’s any good and even if no one read it I’d be still be writing it!

  2. Holly, this is great. Examining what it is you want to do, facing the reasons why you may not be doing them, and finding the outlets to do them is a great process to get some of your creative wishes accomplished. It’s brave to admit the fear of failure. I have a friend who is a ceramicist and there was a long time she wasn’t making any work, and she openly admitted that she was afraid of her art and that it might just suck. But she made a great point that better to produce, and practice producing, than to do nothing. I admit I also have had a fear of failure in art/creativity (essentially the reason I wimped out on an art history degree was because I found out it was a studio major). It also helps so much to be surrounded by people who are creative and somehow being productive with their creativity. That said, I used to have my lady friends over and we would “craft” for hours on end. Wine was involved. We should do something like that. We could pick a collective activity that we both (or all) want to try, or we can do our own individual activities but have people around to offer advice, feedback, or just encouragement. I used to make jewelry a lot (mostly earrings) so I’d love to help out or encourage you with that. Awesome blog post!

    1. I love the crafty ladies’ night idea! I’ve done knit nights and things and those are fun, but maybe it’d actually kick my butt into gear to have a dedicated crafty time that is not knitting related. We should totally do that!

Leave a Reply

