FO Friday: The Complicated Sweater

This one took a little while to figure out at the beginning (and the middle….and the end) but it’s done and I’m happy! (Granted…it didn’t take quite as long as that orange sweater that we’re not talking about…cough)IMG_3133

I used Elsbeth Lavold’s Silky Wool for this top even though the original design was knit in a chunkier weight.  I did this for a few reasons:

  1. I wanted to have a lighter weight summer-y sweater, not something too heavy
  2. I wanted it to have lots of movement and drape
  3. I had plenty of the Silky Wool on handIMG_4538

I did not match the color of this sweater to my other most-recently-finished sweater on purpose, that was an accident but I believe it shows that I’m consistent in some things.IMG_3134

This sweater was a test knit for Bo Balder (Boknits on Ravelry) and although it was complicated and there were many questions, Bo was a total champ at quickly and clearly answering them.  I really like ALL of the sample knits I’ve seen of this top!IMG_4542

One of the things that make this sweater so special (and challenging) is how many different and awesome textures are going on at the same time.IMG_3137

My “mods”:

  • I did 6 short-rows at the bottom to ensure the back was longer than the front (it already was, because of the construction, but I wanted just a touch more length)
  • I worked the rib on the sleeves immediately after picking them back up with no rows of the big hole lace, I wanted shorter cap sleeves

IMG_4529

What have you been knitting lately?  Have you tried any of Bo’s patterns?

 

4 thoughts on “FO Friday: The Complicated Sweater

Leave a Reply

