WIP Wednesday: How to Add Beads to Knitting

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll have seen that I made it to the lace edging on my Olive Garden Shawl – which means beads!IMG_2035

I’ve never done beads before but it was one of my goals for last year. I know, sometimes I arrive late to the party but hey, at least I got here! The bead rows definitely slow down the speed quite a bit but I think the end result is totally worth it. IMG_2036

Here’s how I’ve been doing it: Work the stitch to be beaded and place the bead on the world’s tiniest crochet hook.IMG_2037

Remove the stitch from the right hand needle with the hook and slide the bead onto the stitch.IMG_2038

Return the stitch to the right hand needle.IMG_2039

Pretty simple! Have you ever knit with beads before? Share your projects with me in the comments!

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: How to Add Beads to Knitting

  1. Fun! I love the crochet hook method for beads-it seems so much more manageable than threading all the beads on the yarn ahead of time! I put beads on my Bigger on the Inside shawl instead of bobbles, and I’m hoping to eventually knit a Dew Drops shawl with beads incorporated in the border 🙂

Leave a Reply

