WIP Wednesday: Swatchin’

This weekend I was able to finish all of the projects I had on my needles, can you believe that? Me neither. Pretty crazy. The finished projects will all get their day on the blog soon but Wednesdays are for sharing current works in progress and so that’s what we have – pre-works in progress.

IMG_3027I’m swatching for two different tops right now out of two totally different yarns and, incidentally, having the same problem with both.IMG_2009

The first is the Cascades Sweater by Michele Wang. My momma and I are going to knit some of these for our next KAL and we’ve chosen to use Shepherd’s Wool – mine in the Autumn Gold colorway and hers in the Granite colorway. The first swatch I knit up on US 7’s as the pattern suggested but my gauge was too big so I re-knit on US 6’s and the row gauge changed quite a bit more than the stitch gauge did. I may need to do a little math to get the sweater to work with this gauge but I’d rather do it up front than end up with a pullover that doesn’t fit well!IMG_2851

The second sweater is the Hualpa Kimono by We Are Knitters out of their Cotton Yarn. Again, I knit my swatch on the recommended needle size (US 8’s) and had to go down to a US 7, but, AGAIN, the row gauge changed more than the stitch gauge! I do like the fabric though so will just make a few modifications to make it work for me.IMG_2848

The importance of swatching is a big one and ya’ll should do it before you make things that need to fit (like sweaters and the like). Knitting a swatch two or three times over is far quicker than knitting a sweater two or three times over!

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Swatchin’

Leave a Reply

