Truthtime

Knitters, I knew this week would be a tough one to blog during – work was scheduled to be busy and things that happen after work were happening all week long. And then yesterday, after my work day, I got laid off.IMG_3147

It’d be easy for me not to mention it and to keep the blog all happy happy joy joy, knitting and pups and mountains yay! But. This year I want to make an effort to be more transparent in my blogging and this is a big thing that quite a few people have had – or will have – to deal with in their lives. At first I was upset, mad, discouraged and angry. I’m still feeling a lot of those things today but I’m trying to look at the bright side:

  • This creates more space for a more fulfilling, inspiring opportunity to fill its place
  • Dealing with tough shit makes you stronger

I’m a Law of Attraction person and am working on envisioning my dream job, what it looks like, feels like, inspires in me and allows me to be able to do. I’m going to go to networking events and talk to people and get past my shyness. I’m going to take care of myself and not get lost in the negative feelings spurred by the change.

What are some of your favorite ways to stay on the sunny side and get shit done? What are you working on this week?

12 thoughts on “Truthtime

  1. I’m so sorry that happened to you! I know you will come out happier and stronger in the long run πŸ™‚ Definitely let yourself feel bad, since those feelings take a while to process, but you’re also right to see the opportunity here. And rewards are very key to helping with shyness: “If I go to this one networking event, I get one monster movie tonight.” Whatever works, your mileage may vary, but Bram Stoker’s Dracula gets me to do all kinds of things. This week I am trying to finish a new pattern sample and draft before the KALs I’m doing start, and I have oodles and oodles of yarn that needs winding.

    1. Haha! Hey, I’m certainly not above bribing myself. My big wins are “If I go to this social event I’ll go to a new brewery after” I am looking forward to seeing your versions of the Great Northern Knits sweaters!

  2. Sorry, Holly… that truly does suck! But on a brighter note – you will have time to look for the RIGHT job… or possibly CREATE the right job for yourself. Pugs-N-Hugs from my house to yours!! See you Tuesday!

  3. You never know what could happen.I have my favorite job ever right now & it happened after I got fired from another one. Hoping that’s what’s in store for you too. Anger is like rocket fuel, I used mine to get shit done & move forward, and I learned how to open up & receive kindness, love, respect, better opportunities. So hard to be vulnerable that way! So totally uncomfortable. But worth it. Oh & I listened to Don’t Stop Believing about a zillion times a day. lol a good playlist is so powerful! ((hugs)) and strength coming your way! You can get through this.

    1. Thanks Heather! I’ll have to find an anthem song for myself and just put it on repeat too! Anger is like fuel and I’m putting it towards getting shit done and creating a life for myself that I’m in love with – job and all!

  4. Oh bad luck! They say when one door closes another opens…I got laid off from what I thought was my dream job and realised that I was settling. Since realising that, I’ve been much happier. I haven’t yet found my calling perfectly, but I’m trying to also remember to enjoy the journey. It has been hard, and I didn’t deal with it very happily…but now that I’m through the worst of it all and some time has passed, it’s easier to see the opportunity I now have.

    In the mean time, don’t be scared that you’re failing if you’re not on the sunny side ALL the time. Sometimes it’s OK to eat a bucket of ice cream and watch an awful movie if you can’t motivate yourself to do other things. When I do it (tends to be chocolate rather than ice cream), my making feels so much more wholesome, beautiful and worthwhile, and it doesn’t happen so often that I feel I’m going nowhere, and I can appreciate the good moments better!

    1. Thanks for the advice! I know that trying to ignore the bad feelings will end up backfiring so I’m going to feel them as they come along but I also don’t want to linger there and let them fester. Gotta keep moving ahead and being productive and creating new things in life!

  5. Good lord! I feel like you just moved, had a great opportunity for work which didn’t work out, then you got another job and it was grand, and now this. ::sigh::

    With that said, sometimes, taking the break, sitting back, and reassessing life and goals, is exactly what is needed.

    With that said, I’m still working on the reassessing life and goals thingie since I have small children and have no idea what I want to do with life once they get old enough to be in school full time. In the meantime, I’m doing as much as I can….which isn’t much but I try πŸ™‚

    1. You are totally right – I’m going to take some time to reassess life and goals and pick a new trajectory from there! Evidently what I thought I wanted wasn’t right so I need to let the Universe show me the right way.

      You’ve got to be so busy with those kiddos! I’m sure that’s going to be a huge adjustment having them all in school – but that means more knitting time, no? πŸ˜‰

  6. Mm. Keep your head up. Jobs, much like relationships, pass in and out of our lives in order to teach us lessons that we never would have learned if they stayed. There will be beauty and growth from this, even if you cannot see it now. Besides, we are all a little broken, but the last time I checked, broken crayons still colour the same.

    1. I’m going to use this opportunity to find something better πŸ™‚ I’ve certainly learned that settling for a job (or relationship) never gets you what you want in the long run so keep those standards high along with your chin! Hope alls well with you.

Leave a Reply

