Purse Knitting

First of all, I want to thank each and every one of you guys – your support on my last post means the world to me (as does your support, well, all the time) and I want you to know you’re special.

Now, onto today’s topic:

When one becomes a knitter, at some point in time – whether that be early on or later in the process – one generally wants to bring their projects with them. Always. Wherever they go. For most ladies and some gents, this is called “purse knitting” (or “backpack knitting” “satchel knitting” “whatever-you-carry-your-knitting-in knitting”). Frequently these projects are smaller than an afghan and don’t require constant chart-checking or fiddling. Many knitters like to use socks as their purse knitting, some prefer hats and a large group of folks are obsessed with blanket pieces (hexipuffs, mitred squares, etc).IMG_2379

Me? I take whatever the hell I’m working on in my purse. Luckily/unluckily I have a large purse which means that even big projects (like my Cascades) fit in it. On the one hand, this means that being a monogamous knitter is that much easier. On the other hand, I’m the crazy lady carrying around a sweater-in-progress in her purse and sometimes projects like that get heavy. IMG_2380

I also carry around a toolkit with small scissors, stitch markers, darning needles, scrap yarn, spare dpns, tape measure, stitch holders, needle gauge and small Eucalan samples – you just never know what you’re going to need. I grew up with Boyscout brothers and a Troop Leader Dad, I know how to be prepared. Some might say it’s overkill but if you get stuck in the mountains because of a winter storm you don’t want to need any of those things and NOT have them . Then you just end up doing stupid shit like using a safety pin as a “darning needle” because you’re too excited to wait to sew up the seams of your sleeves and ::cough:: ahem.

You just want to be prepared.

What does your purse knitting look like?

4 thoughts on “Purse Knitting

  1. Right now, I have the Handbag of Holding from ThinkGeek……and it doesn’t hold everything. The problem is that I have a small child in diapers so I have a couple spare diapers and wipes in there, in addition to my wallet, a notebook, various things like chapstick, zipper pouch for quarters for street parking, and a project bag that contains my Vanilla Latte Sock(s)……but not enough room 😦

Leave a Reply

