Blocking is Important! Here’s Why

IMG_3222Blocking is something that folks either seem to love or hate. Personally, I’m on the blocking side of things – my knits don’t feel finished unless I’ve blocked them. I always block my swatches (even though swatches can be lying liarpants anyway) and I’m always pestering my knitting family and friends to be sure to block too!

It’s such an important thing. Why, you ask?

  • Evens out stitches
  • Yarn often will bloom and/or soften
  • Sets the shape and size of the item
  • Shows the true character of the fabric
    -may turn out drapey
    -may grow
    -may shrink
  • Can remove wrinkles

With some projects, like lace, blocking can be used to “stretch” the knit, open up the yarnovers and show the detail and with other projects, it’s used to set the shape, it’s great for all projects to even out the stitches and solves a host of other issues that may arise when knitting. With my Cascades, for example, I wanted the fabric to relax (like I knew it would because I blocked my swatch) and I wanted to make sure that it would fit in all the right places.IMG_3218

If you remember, I added some shaping to this sweater since my hips are a few inches larger than my bust. When I blocked it, I measured the hip and bust areas to be sure they’d fit my curves the way I wanted. Luckily, math and the Universe were on my side and it totally fits the way I hoped! (modelled photos coming later this week ;))IMG_3221

Which side of the blocking fence are you on? Do you do it eachandeverytimenomatterwhat? Or not at all? Or maybe just for certain projects?

2 thoughts on “Blocking is Important! Here’s Why

  1. Block every time! The only things I don’t block are socks, because I want to wear them right away, and then they’ll get washed anyway. I love Kate Atherley’s view on blocking-it’s just washing, and you’re going to have to wash everything eventually, right? Better to account for it up front than to get caught in the rain and have your sweater unexpectedly grow or shrink!

Leave a Reply

