Palate Cleanser

Palate Cleanser – a neutral flavored element in food knitting that enables to clear the palate from one flavor project to another (source: Wikipedia, with my edit).

My knitting projects right now were both meant to be palate cleansers of sorts, after my two-month long stint with Cascades. I cast on a gorgeous shawl in some gorgeous yarn and I picked up the languishing Hualpa Kimono. They were meant to be knit up quickly and be a bit of close-to-instant gratification in my knitting realm.IMG_3466

This really only works if one actually knits the items intended to be knit quickly. Sadly, my wrist pain has returned and my knitting has slowed considerably as a result. Not only does this result in boring blog posts for you, it also makes for a cranky knitter who still carries her projects around with her on the off chance that she’ll be able to will them into existence.IMG_3469

So, cue more stretching and resting and wishing the things would knit themselves. What are you working on this week?

2 thoughts on “Palate Cleanser

  1. Rest up! Wrist pain is the absolute worst, sorry to hear it’s holding you up again. It would be so nice if we could just will our projects to knit themselves-then I wouldn’t feel like my WIP pile is about to swallow me up, lol!

  2. ::sigh::

    Be nice to your wrists. I spent years in pain from repetitive stress syndrome (which is akin to carpal tunnel)…..before I was a knitter. Funnily enough, I gave up drumming and the pain went away 🙂

    I’ve been working on the Rathmore cowl/infinity scarf and I’ve got the Mother Bear Project almost finished. I need to seam, stuff, and do the arms….shouldn’t take too much longer. I finished most of the back yesterday. I might have enough yarn left to make a smaller one. We’ll see how things turn out.

    I need to get back to some of my other projects, though. They’ve been wanting attention and I’ve not been giving it to them.

Leave a Reply

