WIP Wednesday: Let’s Float

While the idea of taking a nice, meandering cruise down a river certainly does sound excellent, that’s not the kind of floating I’m talking about.

I’m talking about the floats created in stranded colorwork. Namely, the Hualpa Kimono I’m still working on. I’ve gotten past the first chart repeat which means that from here on out, I should be moving along a tad bit quicker because I can refer to my previous work instead of the tiny chart (just, uh, ignore the few spots where I may have fudged a stitch…or two…).IMG_3482

Generally it’s recommended that you catch your floats every 3-5 stitches but, as you can see in the photo below, I’m ignoring that guideline for this project.ย IMG_3483

I’m doing this for a few reasons:

  1. The smooth cotton yarn is being knit at a larger gauge than I’d typically pick and I don’t believe that catching the yarn will “hide” it – I think it’ll show through to the right side of the work when I’m done and I really don’t want that
  2. If you look at the photos of all the other Hualpa’s out there, it appears that everyone else is doing the same thing – not that I’m a lemming, I’m just using it as further justification of number one above.IMG_3484

So, it’s coming along and hopefully I’ll be a bit quicker through the rest of the project.

What are you working on this week?

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Let’s Float

  1. Yay for long floats! I’m sprinting to the finish line on my Cherry Pie Skirt for the Great Northern KAL, and I didn’t bother catching my long floats either ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

