WIP Wednesday: A Different Kind of Project

The other week I was so frustrated with my inability to knit and therefor my inability to make progress on my long-term projects. I decided to add another hobby to my tool kit. I’ve posted on Instagram before about having learned how to make these wrap bracelets and as satisfying as they are, sometimes I just need a project to sink my teeth into, something that will take hours of dedicated crafting, you know? Having learned how to cross stitch as a kid, I decided that it would be a fun addition to my works in progress and picked up a kit from Joann’s. 

I already know that I haven’t done some things “correctly” but I’m going to improvise and make it work for me. That lighter brown section around the edgings wasn’t supposed to be a whole “x” – just half. And they were supposed to be worked in 2 strands of the light brown but I only worked them in 1. And I didn’t start the project in the center of the motif or the center of the fabric, I started on the lower right edge. 

What are you working on this week? Any recommendations for cross stitching patterns or resources for a newb?

7 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: A Different Kind of Project

  1. For what its worth, nothing looks “incorrect” in this photo to me 🙂 I love cross-stitch you can pick it up and put it down as you please and don’t have to worry about tension and the like as you would for say knitting. I also almost never start in the middle of the work, so you’re not alone there. Sorry I don’t have any tips lol but I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Hi Hollie, I read your blog all the time and love your beautiful photos and of course Mona Lisa.

    The best advice I can give for x-stitch is to read your instruction sheet and take note of the diagrams for how to make the stitches. Refer to this regularly until you are confident.

    Did you centre your design before starting? You will need a decent amount of cloth around the outside for framing. Normally 10cm, evenly all the way around.

    Linen is rather tricky to do x-stitch on, but you seem to be doing great. If you do have trouble, start a small x-stitch on aida cloth, instead. The squares/holes in the fabric make it very easy to stitch.
    Just Google Cross Stitch and there will be lots of helpful info online.
    Currently I am doing a Tawny Frogmouth (Australian bird) on black aida. It’s for someone else, and I am not that enthused about it because it’s all greys, browns and greens. I have done his eye, so he can watch me as I work on him.

    Good luck with your ‘new’ hobby. I hope you can get back to your knitting soon. I have some sox that need to be done, plus a few other things.

  3. I learned cross stitch when I was much younger (like 8 or so) and there were some rules I followed and others I outright ignored. I might start in the middle but I’ll do all of one color first, then switch to the new one and do all of that one. I was also never adept at the halves and French knots. I could probably do them now but when I was a kid, if it looked how it was supposed to lookish, I called it a win 🙂

    I have enough floss that I’ve considered picking it up again, even for a hot minute…..that and friendship bracelets.

Leave a Reply

