Rethinking Minetta

If you’ve been reading this blog for a little while you might remember my Minetta saga. I began this sweater as a casual KAL with my momma and although she flew through hers, it took me 3 months to finish mine.

In my FO post I mentioned some of the fit issues I had with the sweater but thought I could live with them at the time (and I did, for a while). I wore it a number of times but hung it up in my closet and haven’t worn it at all this entire year!

img_4836_medium2

That’s a problem folks.

I want to have clothes (knits included) in my wardrobe that I actually wear and love. I actually wear a lot of my knitted garments! And I do want a grey cardigan. I like the idea of this one but not the actual finished piece.

img_4832_medium2

I think I’m going to rip it out and re-knit it into something that suits my body and lifestyle a bit more. Plus, I do still love those buttons.

Have you ever frogged a knit? How did you make that tough decision? Did you re-use the yarn or leave it in time out? Any suggestions for grey cardigans in sport weight yarn?

13 thoughts on “Rethinking Minetta

  1. I frogged a sweater that I made with the most scrumptious baby alpaca because the fit was all wrong. It almost broke my heart but the yarn became two beautiful chunky cowls for relatives that live on the East Coast…..life is too short for things that don’t fit! I can’t wait to see what it wants to be!

  2. I frogged my Freeport Vest…I want to say last spring, maybe. I knit it, wore it once, and decided I didn’t like it very much. I hung onto it for awhile (at least a year) before frogging it, however. I love the original but mine didn’t look right on me. I think it could have done with a bit more length, but that was a mistake that is 100% on me because I decided not to go for more length. Right now, the yarn is hanging out into the wound balls it came out in and I imagine I’ll make something someday but today is not that day. The yarn is Malabrigo and I’m not about to get rid of it yet.

  3. I ended up frogging 2/3s of a vest I knew I’d never wear, and I’ve frogged a sweater once (and the new sweater I made with the yarn is due for another frogging). And I have another sweater that I’m planning on frogging to re-knit it in a smaller size, I’m just not emotionally ready for that yet. It’s always such a hard call, but I want to enjoy my yarn and my knits, and it won’t happen if I never wear the projects!

    1. You’re right – always such a hard call even when you know it’s the right one! We could have a frogging party haha! I’ll probably just wind mine straight into cakes (and if they’re really kinky maybe reskein them and give ’em a wash after…)

  4. ‪It’s the right decision. I’ve got 2 FOs set aside to frog and reknit into more suitable pieces once I find or create the right designs. 🙂

  5. This summer I purged my UFO pile and frogged two sweaters, a vest, and part of a mitten. One sweater was because of gauge – I swatched and couldn’t get gauge but knit it anyway. Why continue a mistake even if it took a long time to make? The second sweater just wasn’t right for my body. The vest looked like the right thing to make with the amount of yarn I had but the fit (or lack of it) was not good. The two colors I chose for the mittens didn’t work well together.

    All of those disasters had been taking up space and mocking me so now they are all gone and the yarn is waiting for me to come up with some fantastic pattern.

    Good luck with your decision!

  6. My frogging rule has been that if I’d wearing it longer than I would knit it, then it gets frogged. I have had a sweater or two that I couldn’t pull out (The yarn had started to felt to itself), so those ones got re-homed.

    Your sweater looks lovely! It just seems like the raglan portion needed to have some adjustments. Although if you are ready for a different pattern, then you should go for it!

Leave a Reply

