WIP Wednesday: Something Old, Something New, Something Sparkly & Something Blue

The never-ending socks are still on the needles. You’re not surprised, are you?

I’m making progress on them, I’ve increased 4 stitches per sock so far to help accommodate my calves but I know I’ll need a few more if they keep getting longer. I’ve got my next pair of socks picked out and the yarn waiting but: 1) I want to finish these first and 2) I want to try a different set of needles for the next one – go down a size to a US 1 and get a set that doesn’t have such a bumpy cable-needle join so the stitches slide easier.

img_4281_medium2

I also got yarn for a new project the other day and cast on immediately! This is Berroco Folio Luxe in Aries and I’m using it to knit up a basic ribbed beanie for one of my Team Leads. While at our holiday dinner the other day she pulled out a picture of a cute hat she liked and was going to buy when her husband, my other Team Lead, commented that she should buy it locally and not from a mass-producing factory. Insert Your Friendly Neighborhood Knitter, a flurry of internet shopping and not-so-patient waiting and you’ve got yourself the start of a beanie.img_4857_medium2

I’m still waiting on the finishing piece – a faux fur pom pom – to arrive but the hat needs to be knit before that can be attached anyway so I might as well get started, right? I’m making the pattern up for this as I go and full details will be on my Ravelry page.

img_4856_medium2

And isn’t that little fishy stitch marker the cutest?! I picked that up with April when we went on our yarny/coffee date the other week and it makes me so happy to see it on my knitting!

What are you working on this week? New stuff? Old Stuff? Sparkles? Blue?

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Something Old, Something New, Something Sparkly & Something Blue

  1. That yarn is sooooo pretty!! I still have to finish my mum’s xmas present this week (eek! they’re just bulky weight house socks-I think I can make it! fingers crossed!) and then I’m knitting myself ALL the things. Got some hats queued up, some sweaters, and as soon as this gift is finished imma have myself a nice selfish knit session.

  2. I bet if you find a better needle for your next pair of socks, they will go much faster – every time I’ve tried to solider on with a knit when I don’t like the needle, the progress has been sloooooow. Those socks are going to be very lovely, though! And that hat!

    1. I think you are so so right! I’m going to find different needles – maybe some hiyahiya sharps? Thanks for the compliments 😀 The hat is almost done and I am in LOVE with the pom pom! I’ll share photos as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

