New Pattern: Paintbox Cowl

My first pattern release of 2017! This is the Paintbox Cowl and I’m in love with it.

The sample was knit out of very special hand-dyed yarn by Erban Studio on Etsy (also, go follow her on Instagram, she’s got cute dogs and fun adventures). I held onto the yarn for a little while and waited for it to tell me how to best showcase it’s colors and softness. 

I knew that with a single 400 yard skein, I wanted an accessory to go around my neck that would use as much of the yarn as possible. I’d recently knit a similar cowl and wanted to apply everything I loved about it in a slightly different shape and with more interest while knitting.

This cowl starts off like a triangle shawl knit flat and joined in the round to finish off as a cowl. I’ve got another design in my Ravelry shop that has a similar construction and I just love these! They are so easy to wear and they don’t fall off like some of my shawls do.

It’s the perfect project for using up that special skein of hand-dyed, hand-spun or speckled yarn!

4 thoughts on “New Pattern: Paintbox Cowl

Leave a Reply

