FO Friday: First Socks of 2017

The Never Ending Socks have ended! This is my first FO of the new year and I’m so happy to share them with you!

Details:

I worked these two at a time, toe-up using the magic loop method. I used Plymouth Yarn’s Happy Feet in the Blue Oreo colorway, US 2 (2.75 mm) needles and roughly, kinda-sorta followed the pattern for the Go Your Own Way Socks (basically I followed the numbers through the feet, added ribbing to the top part of the foot and literally Went My Own Way for the legs of the socks, doing 2×2 rib all over and increasing for calf shaping).

Now, wanna see something silly?

It might be a little hard to see in this picture but see that little bit of grey yarn in the center with a slightly different twist than the rest? I ran out of yarn binding off the last few stitches of each sock! I wanted to use up as much yarn as possible and see how tall these babies could be with just a single skein and I definitely used up every last inch of yarn.

Things Learned:

  • my ankle is an inch bigger than the biggest part of my foot and I need to accommodate for this around the heel
  • my calves also require significant modification to most patterns
  • 384 yards of sock yarn goes farther than I thought it would
  • I don’t like the ladders that are on the sides of the toes – this will be the first weak spot to break I think. Perhaps going down a needle size or two will solve the problem?

So, all in all, I’m happy with these socks and they’ve already gotten a lot of wear! I don’t think I’ll be signing up to do the Box O’ Sox KAL (you knit 12 pairs of socks in a year!) but I will be adding a pair of socks to my regular rotation of knits.

What are you knitting right now? Have you finished anything yet this year?

19 thoughts on “FO Friday: First Socks of 2017

      1. Santa gifted me a “sock knitting e-course” for Christmas. So I’ll be knitting my first socks ever. Never had the desire but now I’m excited. 😆

  1. Those came out great! I’ve never managed to get rid of the ladders at the toe yet, hopefully you have better luck than I! (fortunately, I also haven’t ever had an issue with the toes wearing out).

    1. Thanks Kat! Thanks for sharing your experience with the ladders – they certainly *look* weak but if you haven’t had any issues with them, that does make me feel better about the longevity of mine 😀

  2. The socks are lovely and congrats on using every last bit of yarn and then some! (I’m definitely adding that yarn to my buy list.)

    Happy to hear that socks are joining your knitting rotation too. 😀

  3. Really lovely pair of socks! And I never managed to get rid of that stupid ladder in the toes. I get it in some socks, luckily not most, but it annoys me to no end. So if you ever find a solution do let me know!

    1. Thank you! It’s reassuring to hear that you get the ladder too – it lets me know I didn’t do anything wrong! I’m knitting my next pair on US 1s to see if that makes a difference but so far it doesn’t seem to help much.

Leave a Reply

