FO Friday: Peony Shawl

This is a looonnngggg standing WIP that has finally joined the ranks of FO!

According to Ravelry, I started this on February 14th of last year and once I realized that, I kicked into high gear to have it finished before that 1 year mark. I made a quick little video showing how I blocked it and then a few extra words about how much I love it – I’m extra dorky and disorganized in this one so please forgive the goofiness.


The yarn is Entice MCN by Hazel Knits in the Hoppy Blonde colorway. This was a gift from my friend Freshy when she visited me a few years back in New Mexico (Girl, I owe you a visit!)! I really enjoyed using this yarn, the color is gorgeous, the yarn wasn’t splitty or difficult and it’s so so soft.

Peony, by Kat Riddell, is a great shawl to use up a single skein of fingering weight yarn in a solid, tonal or slightly variegated colorway. I think knitting this up in a crazy speckled yarn would be cool but it also might detract from the textural details in the pattern.

There’s no reason this shawl should’ve taken this long, the pattern is clear and the project only requires 1 skein. I did get myself mixed up somewhere in the pattern and my halves weren’t equal numbers but I fudged it and just kept going, no one can tell but me anyways, right?

When I first bound off the project I was grabbing coffee with a friend and she remarked on how small it was (she is not a knitter) but I knew it’d grow with blocking and boy did it! It’s at least twice the size (60″ wide and 27″ deep) now that it’s blocked than it was when freshly off the needles. I love that! Because it’s fingering weight yarn knit on a US 8/5 mm needle, it’s still lightweight but warm, this will be perfect for early spring and the chill that lingers in the mornings.

Have you finished anything this week? Have you knit a Kat Riddell pattern yet or used any Hazel Knits yarns?

2 thoughts on “FO Friday: Peony Shawl

Leave a Reply

