A Mushy Post

So, it’s Valentine’s Day. I generally am not a huge fan of this particular holiday but I celebrate in my own way (which means not at all, some years). This year, Nick and I did end up celebrating in a casual way and I want to share with you what we did because my project involves knitting and his is so sweet and I wanted to share.

A few months back, probably around Christmas, Nick mentioned off-handedly that he wanted a double-thick beanie to keep his head warm when snowboarding. The knitter brain carefully archived this comment and started marinating different ideas for how I could accomplish this. The Double Black Diamond Beanie is the final manifestation and I’m so pleased with it!

It is a reversible beanie knit up in worsted weight yarn. The Malabrigo Rios I’ve had in my stash for probably four years. It’s a perfect tonal neutral and it’ll go with whatever warm-weather outfit he’s wearing. Plus, it’s black and plays well with the name Double Black Diamond along with his favorite runs on the mountains.

The fun color is Outlander by Voolenvine on her new Cocoon base. This is my first time working with Voolenvine and I gotta say, I’m smitten. I was quite pleased to see that the ribbed half of this beanie only used about half a skein so I can use this saturated, beautiful color for another project! Nick has a lot of orange and blues in his wardrobe and finding a suitable, fun color was a little tricky. I happened to see a picture Kristin posted on Instagram the day she dyed this color and I knew it was perfect immediately, scheduled her next update in my calendar and waited with my hands on the keyboard for it to go live. It was awfully serendipitous.

I’m currently seeking testers for this pattern so if you know anyone who would love their own version, check out the thread in my Rav Group!

…………………………..

Nick’s project, on the other hand, is not fiber related (no surprise, he doesn’t knit).

He found this gorgeous music box at our favorite local antique store the other day and although the music part didn’t work, the box is so pretty he bought it anyway. Just look at those adorable details! The windy legs on the corners, the painted details and the instrument on the top, the red velvet on the inside!

When I opened it up, he’d filled it with “100 Reasons [I’m] Amazing” and even took the music box apart, fixed it and put it back together. The charm of this box and his thoughtfulness totally slays me. And I’m not a gushy romantic.

So, that’s a little bit of mushy stuff that made me happy this weekend. How was your weekend?

3 thoughts on “A Mushy Post

Leave a Reply

