What Happened to the Past Week?

Where did the time go?! I can’t believe I didn’t get a chance to post last week, I’m sorry folks!

I guess part of it is that I’ve been super busy at the cafe but I also hadn’t made a ton of progress on the sweater until recently. If you’re a long-time reader of the blog, you probably know that I have begun to have wrist issues that have escalated lately.  The truth is, I haven’t been able to knit more than a row or two a day, max, before I started getting pain bad enough to prevent me from knitting altogether for at least a week.

Sad, ain’t it?IMG_9180

I’ve been knitting since I was 9 and I used to engage in marathon knitting sessions – cranking out a sweater in a week or two! New FO’s every week, projects just flying off the needles!

A few years ago is when all the pain started and over the years it’s just gotten worse and worse and worse. Long story slightly shorter, I saw a Physical Therapist last week to see if it was, in fact, Carpal Tunnel like I believed it to be.

We don’t believe it’s fully Carpal Tunnel – she thinks that my Uller nerve might be getting pinched somewhere between the base of my neck and my wrist. I’ve got a slew of exercises to do to loosen up my shoulders, open my chest and get that nerve relaxed and it does seem to be working! I’m excited to be getting back to my normal pace which also means that updates on this here blog will be more frequent and (hopefully) more interesting!

Have you ever had an injury that prevented you from doing something you loved? How did you handle it?

7 thoughts on “What Happened to the Past Week?

  1. Yes, I had work injuries from repetitive movement that prevented me from knitting about 3-4 years ago. It sucked, but I focused on another love. That is about the time I got hooked on Battlestar Galactica.

    Maybe you can work on your photography and hiking?

      1. Oh yes, I’ve been back to knitting for many years since then. I don’t necessarily have a lot of time with Nathaniel channeling all of his goofiness and crankiness at once lately. Cleaning and working out takes time away from it, too.

  2. Yes, knee injuries and surgeries kept me from running. After denial, then lots of pouting, I found my wonderful ZeroRunner! If not for that, there’d be anger and more pouting…so (how did you handle it) it wouldn’t have been well. Your situation is really tough…there’s no ZeroKnitter machine. 😫 Hopefully PT will help. At least you’re trying something to fix it and that’s the first step to recovery. 😘❤️

    1. So far so good! I’ve been able to make miles – ok, not miles, but INCHES of progress since last week! I’m stoked! As stoked as you are for your ZeroRunner (when its working right ;))

  3. After Stormageddon was born last September, I wound up with De Quervain’s tenosynovitis. It’s also known as gamer’s thumb, washerwoman’s thumb, or mommy’s thumb. It’s mostly from picking up the baby under his armpits and is an inflammation of the tendons where your thumb meet your wrist. It can send sharp pains all the way up your arm…mine has subsided greatly but once in awhile, it flares up again. ::sigh:: I had to wear a brace, take ibproufen, and do either ice or heat (both helped for different reasons). PT couldn’t do much other than a couple stretches.

    1. Wow! I’ve never heard of that before, I learned something new today! It sounds really painful though 😦 I’m glad it’s subsiding, hopefully it keeps doing that for you!

Leave a Reply

