WIP Wednesday: Two Newbies

Did you guys all have an excellent Halloween weekend? Mine was great – definitely busy and a little bit crazy – but over all pretty darn good!

I’ve been alternating between two new projects this week – one will look oddly similar to my previous project and one is totally different. And I’m going to apologize in advance for the poor photo quality, it’s dark so early in the evenings and the sun doesn’t come up until so late in the mornings!

As soon as I bound off the last mitt of the knucks I was working on last week I cast on for a pair of plain fingerless mitts – I don’t plan on adding fingers or mitten flaps to these. So far I’m working on the thumb gusset increases but it’s good purse knitting to have on hand and I wanted to use up as much of the ball as possible.img_3920_medium2

My other project is a new cowl design with some absolutely stunning indie dyed yarn from Erban Studio. I first saw this yarn when she posted it on Instagram and then before I knew it, it was at my door!img_3919_medium2

This is a fabulous, single ply superwash and super soft yarn – could be merino? I’m not sure, the label only said superwash fingering. And aren’t those colors just perfect? I don’t have too many speckled yarns in my stash yet but I’m working up a new design with this one that I think will highlight the speckles perfectly.

What are you working on this week? New stuff? Old stuff? Has anyone started their gift knitting yet?

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Two Newbies

  1. For my gift knitting I’ve got two pairs of fingerless mitts finished and am starting on a hat. Two cowls and another pair of mitts are also going to be gifted. I think the 5 stockings are going to be put on the back burner this year.

Leave a Reply

