WIP Wednesday: Big and Little

This week the projects I’m working on are kind of opposites.

One of them is a big garment knit with big yarn on big needles.

The other is a small set knit with small yarn on small needles.

(and there’s the other project which is kind of in the middle and makes Goldilocks happy).

As I’m sure you’ve guessed, the big project is Aidez. I mentioned last week that I started on the first sleeve in lieu of a gauge swatch and I’m cruising right along with that! Knitting with US 10.5 (6.5 mm) dpns for this part feels like knitting with trees and it took my hands a few rounds to get used to working with them. It’s so satisfying how quick this knits up though and I’ll hopefully have a finished sweater in no time!

The small project is a new pair of socks for me that I shared just the beginnings of on Instagram.Β These are the Traditional Gansey Socks from Wendy D. Johnson’s Socks From The Toe Up Book. The yarn is stashed Dream in Color Smooshy in the Amber Glass colorway. As I mentioned with the last socks, I wanted to get a new set of needles to see if that helped with knitting – I got some Chiao Goo US 1 (2.25 mm) and the join between the needle and the cable is *so* much more smooth! The knitting isn’t faster yet, probably because of the 100% merino yarn being a bit grippy, but I’m not fighting with the stitches when I move them around the cable.

I know that for the past year I was kind of a monogamous knitter but I’m enjoying have multiple projects on the go right now! It’s kind of fun switching between the two extremes πŸ™‚

What are you knitting this week?

14 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Big and Little

    1. Thank you! And I agree – sometimes you want something small and dainty and sometimes you want big ol’ needles that make projects go quickly (and the sweater will cease being purse knitting once I get past the sleeves so I need a purse project)

  1. Glad to hear you got needles with better joins. That’ll definitely make sock knitting easier. πŸ™‚

    I’m switching up between my two selfish knitting projects and I’m about to start swatching for a friend’s baby sweater.

  2. I have 10 or 11 projects going….some of them are in a state of pseudo-hibernation because I have small children and multiple pages with charts don’t mix well with active children. Buuuuut, some of them are perfect for sitting around knitting πŸ™‚

  3. I’m all for semi-monogamous knitting. I find that if I have three or fewer projects going, then I am productive. At the moment I have two pairs of socks on the needles. One pair is color work, which is rubbish for car knitting. The other is simpler in one color.

Leave a Reply

